Español

Defendants can ask for a deferral for certain kinds of offenses. A deferral is a postponement of judgement. If you complete the terms of the deferral, the case will be dismissed.


1. Find out if you are eligible for a deferral. You are eligible if:

  • You do not have a commercial driver's license, even if the violation occurred while you were driving a non-commercial vehicle.
  • You are 17 or older.
  • You are charged with one of the code violations in Step 2.

2. Select the type of ticket to understand the terms of the deferral and fill out the appropriate online request form.

Moving violations

Terms of deferral:
 

  • The deferral period is 90 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must complete a 6-hour driver safety course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. You can submit a copy of your certification in person, by fax, by mail, or by email.
  • You must maintain a valid driver license or permit during the deferral.
  • You must notify the court in writing if your address changes.
  • You must commit no other moving traffic offenses within Austin city limits during the deferral period.

Ways to request a deferral for a moving violation

Bicycle violations

Terms of deferral:

  • The deferral period is 90 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must complete the 3-hour online defensive cycling course through the Center for Cycling Education. You can register for the course online. Notice of certification will be mailed to the court directly once you have completed the course.
  • You may also complete a 6-hour driver safety course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. You are responsible for submitting the certification of completion by the end of the deferral period. You can submit a copy in person, by fax, by mail, or by email.
  • You must commit no other bicycle offenses within Austin city limits during the deferral period.

Request a deferral for a bicycle violation

No insurance

Terms of deferral:

  • The deferral period is 180 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must maintain the minimum liability insurance coverage as required by law without lapse during the deferral period.
  • You must maintain a valid driver license or permit during the deferral period.
  • You must notify the court in writing if your address changes.
  • At the end of the deferral period, you must submit a letter from your insurance company or agent showing that your insurance has been in effect for 180 starting from the date this form is postmarked.

Request a deferral for driving without proof of insurance 

No license

Terms of deferral:

  • The deferral period is 90 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must affirm that you will not drive a vehicle unless you have obtained a valid Texas driver license during the 90 day deferral period.
  • You must notify the court in writing if your address changes.

Request a deferral for driving without a license

Disabled parking

Terms of deferral:

  • The deferral period is 90 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must commit no other disabled parking offenses within Austin city limits during the deferral period.
  • You must notify the court in writing if your address changes.

Request a deferral for a disabled parking violation 

Water violations

Terms of deferral:

  • The deferral period is 90 days from the date your form is postmarked or submitted in person.
  • You must complete a boat safety class and submit a copy of the certificate of completion by the end of the deferral period.
  • You can submit a copy in person or by fax, mail, or email.
  • You must not commit any other water violations within Austin city limits during the deferral period.
  • You must notify the court in writing if your address changes.

Request a deferral for a water violation


3. A week after submitting your request, search the online case portal using your last name and birth date to see the status of your case.

If your request for a deferral is denied, you can choose another option to handle your case or ticket.


4.Find the fees for your case through the court's case portal and choose an option to pay.

By phone

Call 512-974-4800.

Online

Find your case and pay through the case portal.

By mail

Mail a check or money order to: Austin Municipal Court, P.O. Box 2135, Austin, TX 78768-2135

Include in your correspondence:

  • License plate number
  • Date of violation
  • Citation number
  • Your name, address, and phone number
In person

You may pay the fee in person at one of these two courthouse locations.

Main Courthouse

6800 Burleson Road, Building 310, Suite 175, Austin, TX 78744

Jaime Padron Substation

12425 Lamplight Village Ave., Austin, TX 78758

Through an alternative payment option

If you are unable to pay a court fee, payment alternatives may be available to you.

Find alternative ways to pay a court fee.


5. Complete the terms of your deferral and submit proof to the court.

If you cannot or will not complete the terms of a deferral and do not want to explain the reason to a judge, you may opt out of the deferral and a conviction will be entered.

Otherwise, failure to meet the terms of your deferred disposition will result in a revocation hearing. The hearing is your opportunity to explain to a judge why you failed to meet the terms.

If you do not appear in court for your revocation hearing, a conviction will be entered. The conviction will be placed on your record. If you still owe the court money, a warrant for your arrest will be issued.

In person

Main Courthouse

6800 Burleson Road, Building 310, Suite 175, Austin, TX 78744

Jaime Padron Substation

12425 Lamplight Village Ave., Austin, TX 78758

By email

court@austintexas.gov

By fax

512-974-4882


 

Evaluation criteria

In determining whether or not to grant your deferral request, the court will also consider:

  • The type of offense you have been charged with
  • The facts of your particular case
  • Your criminal history

If you are not eligible

If you are not eligible to apply for a deferral, you can find out when you need to go to court using the court's online case portal. You can also choose another option to handle your case or ticket.

If you are under the age of 17, you will receive notice in the mail of a date and time to appear in court with a parent or guardian. Keep your address updated with the court so you receive your notice on time. You may have the option of requesting a deferral at your court appearance.