Interim Guidance: Recommended Uses of COVID-19 Rapid Antigen Tests
for Schools in Austin/Travis County

For public and private schools who are choosing to participate in the COVID-19 Rapid Testing Pilot
Program offered by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and the Texas Division of Emergency
Management (TDEM), Austin Public Health offers the following recommended approaches and
guidance.

Which Schools?

Consider focusing testing on schools that:
e Are located in zip codes with higher rates of COVID-19

e Have a Title | designation
e Have higher numbers of people in racial and ethnic groups with disproportionately high
rates of COVID-19

Who? (In Order of Highest Priority),

1. Individuals with COVID-19-like symptoms who are on campus

2. Surveillance testing of specific members of campus population or full campus population
(i.e. sustained transmission within school, high rates of community transmission)

3. Proactive testing of asymptomatic individuals at risk for exposure because physical
distancing is difficult to maintain or because they cannot easily limit their movements
throughout the school (i.e. special needs classrooms, food service, janitorial, athletics, etc.)

Testing Guidance

Testing must only be offered on a voluntary basis. Parent consent must be obtained for minors.

It is not recommended to retest individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19 in the last
three months and who do not have symptoms of COVID-19.

See attached flow charts for specific guidance on next steps based on test results of
symptomatic and asymptomatic individuals.
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https://austin.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/f8b42573e2df477b87be64bb69574b8e

Contact Tracing

When identifying close contacts, schools should use the CDC’s updated definition: Someone
who was within 6 feet of an infected person for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over
a 24-hour period* starting from 2 days before illness onset (or, for asymptomatic patients, 2
days prior to test specimen collection) until the time the patient is isolated.

All persons who are identified as close contacts need to quarantine for 14 days, even if they
are tested and receive a negative test result, because they can still develop COVID-19 for up
to 14 days after being exposed. Quarantine helps prevent spread of disease that can occur
before a person knows they are sick or if they are infected with the virus without feeling
symptoms. Close contacts who are in quarantine who develop symptoms should be referred
to their healthcare provider or Austin Public Health for a PCR test.

Reporting Test Results

1. Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)- As required by law, all results —
negative, positive, and inconclusive - from testing shall be reported daily to the
Department of State Health Services DSHS through the provided test portal system Texas
Rapid Test app - https://app.txrapidtest.org/

2. Austin Public Health (APH)- Positive results from rapid antigen tests conducted by schools
should also be included in the online reporting form used to report cases to Austin Public
Health (APH). If your school/school system is not yet connected to the APH online
reporting form, please email APHSchoollnfo@austintexas.gov to get connected.
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https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/contact-tracing/contact-tracing-plan/appendix.html#contact
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/contact-tracing/contact-tracing-plan/appendix.html#contact
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/contact-tracing/contact-tracing-plan/appendix.html#contact
http://austintexas.gov/covid19
https://app.txrapidtest.org/
mailto:APHSchoolInfo@austintexas.gov

